You Didn’t Have a Bad Day

Heads up-if you receive letters in the mail from yours truly, some of these posts may sound familiar. Sorry ’bout it;) I like to share with everyone, not just those on my “mailing list”.

So, here’s the basis of this post: You DID not have a bad day. You had a bad 15 minutes and decided to indulge in it. Read that again.

Raise your hand if you find yourself letting a tiny, seemingly insignificant moment in your day change the whole trajectory of your attitude, outlook, personality…all the things? My hand shot right up. And why? Perspective people!

Let’s say you are not Lindsey (which if you are reading this, I can assure you that you are not). What does Lindsey do when she wakes up late and is running around like a lunatic trying to rush to work? Well, after some choice words muttered under my breath blaming the dog or the alarm clock or what-have-you, I choose to replay the mornings’ events on a loop of insanity on my drive to work. You know how this helps me move on with the day? IT DOESN’T.

The old drinking-stinkin’-thinkin’ version of Lindsey creeps back in and tries to take over. And, folks, it ain’t pretty. Old habits die hard (and not in a fun, Christmas party, Bruce Willis, kind-of-way.) A normal person moves on, puts on their big gal pants, and brushes away that damn negativity.

So, what… You overslept, rushed to work, forgot your breakfast, maybe you realize you are wearing two different shoes (I’d love to say I have never done this, but we all know I have) so you know what you do? Get over it. Don’t be like Lindsey and spend the next 12 hours complaining about how your day sucked before it even started. Just don’t. Slam on your breaks (literally) and grab the granola bar or bag of goldfish crackers that come rolling from under your seat (this only applies if your life even somewhat resembles mine–no one will ever starve or die of thirst on my watch thanks to all the random snacks and water bottles my kids leave in the backseat). Breakfast has been served. Now, fly through Wal-Mart and buy a pair of (matching) $10 janky shoes. Matching shoes-you look less insane now. Proceed to work.

Quit lingering on how bad your day is. I have said this once and will say it again-No one like a lingerer. The only person making your day bad is you. Say a prayer for crying out loud. Mine (while driving) usually involves some “no no” words, but hey, whatever works. I usually remember to apologize to the good Lord once I slow down. He understands. I can’t tell you how many times I have prayed for God to remove my head from my…rear end (you know the real word), get the hell over myself and my perceived idea that this is a bad day. I pray to help me get past myself because I get in the way of whatever His plans are for me. Take this damn wheel before I do!

You DID not have a bad day. You had a bad 15 minutes and decided to indulge in it. Read that again.

This is not a new profound way of thinking. I am just learning daily that I know less and less about…well, everything. Always room to grow. Learn and improve. Sometimes in our own time and in our own way. That is totally ok. That’s the beauty of growth. Never too old, tired, scared, whatever to learn something new to improve your outlook. Your focus. Your perspective.

Don’t let 15 minutes determine the course of your day. Laugh, cry, pray…then get over it. Don’t indulge in it. Getting consumed with negative thoughts never leads anywhere good. And unless you’re a psycho, you probably want to have good days.

That thing between your ears (your brain) is not always your best friend. I am at odds with mine all the time. Sometimes it needs a talking to–a little time out. Rewiring. If this were the 90’s, we could treat it like all things that didn’t work properly–unplug it, blow in it, and put it back in hopes the “glitch” corrected itself. Kidding-don’t go trying to remove your brain. I am not rich enough for the proper defense attorney that I would need to hire for giving out poor advice via blog.

You DID not have a bad day. You had a bad 15 minutes and decided to indulge in it. Read that again. Tattoo that on your brain. Write it on a sticky note. Keep it handy when you wear two different shoes to work or forget to brush your teeth (not that I have ever done that…cough, cough, BUT I hear that keeping that little bag the dentist gives you with a toothbrush and toothpaste in your glove box comes in handy…just in case).

Thank you for taking time to read my ramblings:) You’re so very welcome for these life hacks brought to you by your friendly, hot-mess, absent minded, recovering alcoholic.

Leave a comment